Wednesday, January 2, 2013

Your Facebook Pokes Are Stored For Two Days, Then Their Encryption Keys Are Deleted

Link to full story is here.

Facebook Poke messages self-destruct after a few seconds, but is Facebook saving these potentially embarrassing photos and videos? No. It’s deleting them. Pokes are encrypted, and Facebook deletes the encryption keys two days after they’re read so they’re unreadable. Key backups are destroyed within 90 days, making a poke completely inaccessible. So send those silly, racy messages with confidence.

Normally, Facebook stores everything you share until you delete your account. This lets it mine your photos for location data, track what sites you share links to, and collect other information that can help it improve the site or better target its ads.

No comments:

Post a Comment